top of page
  • Writer's pictureJecinta Wangui

EXCLUSIVE: Interview with actress Tanya Chisholm

Updated: Mar 10, 2020




Hello there! Today I gladly introduce to you Tanya Chisholm; a lively and talented actress you have watched in the Disney hit show Big Time Rush, High school musical 2 among others. Apart from acting, Tanya has other passions that she pursues in the creative field such as fashion. Pay close attention as she is about to share valuable lessons learnt through her journey of becoming more than just an actress.


“I am not what I do. My value is greater than how popular or successful I happen to be at the moment.”

How would you describe your personality in real life?

I'd describe myself as carefree, kind, fun-loving, extremely sensitive and expressive!


When did you first start acting?

My very first acting role was at the age of 7, when I played the ‘Angel of the Lord’ in my school Christmas pageant. I'll never forget it! I opened the show and as soon as the spotlight hit me, all I could think was "Man, I want to do this FOREVER!" It was such an amazing feeling! I did a lot of performing growing up, but I didn't start acting professionally till after I graduated college at 21.


Have you always wanted to be an actor? Why?

I have always wanted to perform and create. Sometimes in acting, dancing and even decorating my home and hosting a dinner party! I used to think being an actress was the ONLY thing I could do to be happy, but I have discovered that what I like about acting is entertaining people! I love captivating an audience through story-telling and creative expression. You can do that in a lot of different ways.


Did you do any work aside from acting?

Yes! Since discovering that my actual passion is not just acting itself, but creating content in general, I have branched out into a few different creative arenas. I do editorial and interior styling, photography and I am currently branching out into branding and creative direction (which is basically visual storytelling).


In which show/ movie did you get your big break?

My first role on prime time television was my recurring role on "Veronica Mars". It was a small part, but a big first! But my real breakout moment was definitely my role as "Jackie"- one of the "Sharpettes" in Disney's smash hit "High School Musical 2".


What are some of the challenges you have encountered in your career?

I think the most challenging thing I've faced is accepting the ebbs and flows of opportunities in the industry. One minute you are hot, the next you're not. Unlike most professions your success doesn't always reflect your talents, abilities or work ethic. So much of being successful in the industry is being in the right place at the right time. In addition to that, you have to keep showing up and doing your best, even when you aren't seeing the results you

want.



What advice would you give to people who want to pursue acting?

Start doing theater! It's a great place to start and you will be able to tell if you really LOVE performing, or you just like the idea of performing. If acting isn't something you love and are passionate about, I would literally pick any other profession to pursue. It's not an easy road! But if performing is your passion, I would say the key is preparedness and tenacity. Being prepared means, as much as you are giving your all in each audition you get, you also have to invest in yourself as a human being. It is important to develop other interests and hobbies and also to be active in your relationships. This will enable you to develop real life experiences that will enhance your acting! Your career as an actor will be paved with challenges and setbacks. It is the people who push through them and hold on tight that ultimately succeed rather than others who let go.


Of all the characters you've played which one was your best one and why?

Definitely Kelly from Big Time Rush! In addition to it being my longest job, it was also the most fun. I developed such valuable friendships being on the show and it really solidified my desire to focus on comedy in my career. It was also dope to have been a part of a whole generation of people's childhoods.


What is the most embarrassing/memorable thing that has ever happened to you on set?

When I ripped my pants on the set of Big Time Rush! For the scene, I had to jump into a squat and we were trying to get the final shot before lunch. In shooting a scene, a number of shots had to be taken hence I had to do the scene over and over again. In taking the 3rd shot, I jumped into a squat and my pants ripped up at the back AUDIBLY and dramatically! My whole butt was showing and because we were pressed for time I just continued to perform the scene exposed to the whole cast and crew! It was hilarious and embarrassing. I wish someone had the footage!


What is the most valuable lesson you've learnt from acting?

I am not what I do. My value is greater than how popular or successful I happen to be at the moment.


What are your other passions?

Dance, laughter, hospitality, fashion, vintage clothing, babies and my husband Brett!


What is the one thing that most people don't know about you?

I'm actually painfully shy.



 

What is your favorite food?

Ice cream!


Hobbies?

Dancing, singing, crafting, thrifting.


Favorite Color?

Pink and yellow


Pets?

My puppy Oliver is a wired haired Jack Russell terrier mix. He's one of the best things that have ever happened to me. Lol!


Band or musician?

Other than my insanely talented music producer hubby Brett Engel, my music favorites include Outcast, Lauryn Hill, Bob Marley, and Phish.


Favorite movie?

A tie between "The Big Lebowski" and "Wet Hot American Summer"


Favorite actor?

Daniel Day Lewis and Johnny Depp.

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page